Woman Child

I have no identity
Outside your property
Long legs spread
when I should have been warm in bed
Standardized tests
and I’m staring at the rain
from the classroom window
Feeling enveloped
I knew I wasnt the same
They all did, too
Just couldnt put their finger
on what to do.

What should have been special
a violation
So i let them take and
lost more and more
of an imaginary place
where i could be free
to live
away
from pain
to have respect
and love.

28 times and I’m not afraid.
28 times and I lost my way.
28 times and there’s still too much to say
This is all I can do today.

Leave a Reply

